Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Connie Hedegaard is the new member of the Aarhus University Board

Connie Hedegaard, outgoing climate action commissioner, is the new external member of the Aarhus University Board. She will be replacing Mariann Fischer Boel, who is stepping down after four years on the board.


[Translate to English:] Foto: Olivier Hansen

The Aarhus University Board has appointed Connie Hedegaard as new external board member at Aarhus University. She will join the board on 1 December 2014.

54-year-old Hedegaard recently resigned from her position as EU’s first climate commissioner, a post she has held since 2010. 

“In Connie Hedegaard, Aarhus University has found an extremely competent and experienced replacement. She is passionately committed and a hard worker. Her visionary, ambitious approach will make her a great asset to the work of the board, and we are looking forward to working with her,” says Michael Christiansen. 

The appointment comes after an inclusive process in which the university’s employees, students, academic councils, employer committees and panels, and current board members had an opportunity to suggest relevant successors to Mariann Fischer Boel. Around 20 proposals were submitted. The board’s agreement to appoint Hedegaard was unanimous.

She replaces Fischer Boel, who has decided to resign as external board member in connection with the end of her four-year appointment.

“I would like to take this opportunity to extend my warmest thanks to Mariann Fischer Boel for her extremely committed contribution to the board’s work during a period of extensive change and major challenges. On the board, we have benefited from Marianns extensive experience with Danish and international politics,” states Chairman Michael Christiansen. 

Hedegaard will participate in her first board meeting on 17 December 2014.

About the Aarhus University Board

The Aarhus University Board consists of six external members, three employee representatives and two student representatives. The two current student representatives, Heidi Klokker and Andreas Birch Olsen, are also resigning. Elections to the two vacant student rep seats will take place 24-27 November 2014.

Read more about the Aarhus University Board

Connie Hedegaard in brief

Connie Hedegaard holds a Master’s degree in comparative literary history and history and was elected to the Danish Parliament in 1984 for the Conservative People’s Party. After a long career as a journalist during which she was head of Radio News, Radio Denmark (DR), she was appointed Minister for the Environment in 2004 and later Minister for the Climate and Energy in 2007. In 2010, Hedegaard was appointed EU’s first climate commissioner, a post which she held until 31 October 2014. She was recently appointed chair of the Villum Foundation’s new international climate foundation, Kann Foundation.  

Further information:

Head of Press Affairs Anders Correll, +45 2899 2235

All groups, External target group, Aarhus University, People news, All AU units