Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Master’s thesis competition about the Danish Realm – will one of your students be the winner?

Do you know any students whose Master’s thesis focuses on the Danish Realm? Then be sure to let them know about the Ministry of Higher Education and Science’s Master’s thesis competition, which is intended for students on all degree programmes. The winner will receive DKK 40,000 and have their thesis communicated to the general public.

2021.03.17 | Sinne B. Jakobsen

Photo: Colourbox


For the second year in a row, current or former students at Aarhus University can now compete against other students from Denmark, Greenland and the Faroe Islands in the competition for the best Master’s thesis that focuses on the Danish Realm.

Theses within all research areas are eligible for the competition, including social sciences, the humanities, technical sciences, natural sciences, agricultural and veterinary sciences and health sciences. A broad range of topics are acceptable; the submitted theses can address historical, cultural and political conditions, but also geology, tourism, art and much more.

The thesis must have received a grade of at least 10 and must have been assessed in the period from 14 August 2020 to 26 August 2021. It may be written in Danish and/or English.

The deadline for submission of the thesis is 26 August 2021.

About the Master’s thesis competition

The Master’s thesis competition is carried out by the Ministry of Higher Education and Science in close collaboration with the eight Danish universities and the universities on Greenland and the Faroe Islands. The competition will take place three times (first time in 2020), and it is one of several initiatives that focuses on strengthening young Danish, Faroese and Greenlandic people’s knowledge of the Danish Realm and each other.

The prize will be awarded every year by the Minister for Higher Education and Science at an award ceremony in November/December 2021.

Read more about the competition and the criteria for competing (in Danish only)

Read about last year’s winners (in Danish only). 

Administrative, Administration (Academic), All groups, All AU units, Aarhus University, Public/Media, Health, Technical / administrative staff