Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Ten principles for the university campus of tomorrow

The senior management team at Aarhus University has formulated a set of principles for Campus 2.0 – the university of the future. The principles were approved at the Aarhus University Board seminar last week.

2017.06.15 | Louise Asmund-Hjorth

Photo: Poul Ib Henriksen

How should we be a university in the future? How can we attract the best research talents, teachers and students? How can the university’s campuses contribute to the development of strong research environments across the university? What will Education IT and new ways of teaching mean? And how can we become more sustainable? These are some of the questions the ten principles for Campus 2.0 are intended to address.

“With these ten principles, we have created a solid strategic framework which will help ensure that Aarhus University’s campuses remain in the international elite in relation to parameters such as sustainability, the connection between education and research and collaboration with business and industry,” explains University Director Arnold Boon.

Now that they have been approved by the board, the ten principles will guide the strategic development of the university’s campuses in coming years, for example in connection with the university’s acquisition of the former municipal hospital property at Nørrebrogade in 2019.

The ten principles for Campus 2.0:

Aarhus University’s campuses must:

  1. Promote the integration of research and education.
  2. Facilitate interdisciplinary research, education and innovation.
  3. Promote the teaching practices of the future.
  4. Be a flexible study environment with many workspaces for students.
  5. Be international.
  6. Be able to offer housing to students and researchers.
  7. Promote collaboration with business and industry and the surrounding society.
  8. Be enriched by non-university activities.
  9. Be car-free.
  10. Be developed sustainably.

Read more about Campus 2.0 and the process 

Hear Chairman of the Board Connie Hedegaard summarise the University Board seminar (in Danish)

Administrative, Administration (Academic), Technical / administrative staff, All AU units, Aarhus University, Academic staff, PhD students