Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Two new Niels Bohr professorships at Aarhus University

The Danish National Research Foundation has invested DKK 60 million (EUR 8.07 million) in two new Niels Bohr professorships at Aarhus University.

2016.05.31 | Camilla Schrøder

[Translate to English:] Aarhus Universitet

Two new Niels Bohr Professorships at Aarhus University. PHOTO: Lars Kruse

The National Centre for Register-based Research at Aarhus BSS and the Department of Physics and Astronomy have each received a DKK 30 million (approx. EUR 4 million) grant to fund a Niels Bohr professorship. These professorships are being established to promote increased collaboration between Aarhus University and international top researchers.



The two new Niels Bohr professors are:

  • John McGrath, University of Queensland, Australia. He is regarded as one of the world’s leading authorities on schizophrenia and other mental disorders. The host professor is Preben Bo Mortensen, director of the National Centre for Register-based Research, Aarhus BSS. Read the article

  • Thomas Pohl of the Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden. Dr Pohl is a professor of quantum physics. The host professor is Michael Drewsen at the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Read the article

The goal of the Danish National Research Foundation’s Niels Bohr program is to bring enrich Danish research by attracting eminent researchers from abroad. The Niels Bohr professors will spend between 50 and 100 per cent of their time at their Danish host institutions over the next five years.

The Danish National Research Foundation has invested DKK 200 million (approx. EUR 27 million) in the establishment of seven Niels Bohr professorships. Read the announcement  (link to PDF in Danish).  



Grants and awards, Research, All groups, External target group, Aarhus University