Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl


Two elite researchers and five research talents from Aarhus University are among the recipients of 2018 Elite Research Prizes which were conferred at a ceremony held at Copenhagen Opera House on Thursday, 1 March.

2018.03.06 | Ida Hammerich Nielson

Both Robert A. Fenton, professor at the Department of Biomedicine, and Søren Fournais, professor at the Department of Mathematics, received an Elite Research Prize for 2018.

Each year, the Minister for Higher Education and Science honours five of Denmark’s top researchers by awarding them Elite Research Prizes. The aim of these awards is to create awareness about elite research in Denmark and help increase public awareness of Danish researchers’ important contribution to science.

Robert A. Fenton, professor at the Department of Biomedicine, and Søren Fournais, professor at the Department of Mathematics, both of Aarhus University, are two of the five elite researchers who received the 2018 Elite Research Prize.

Robert A. Fenton conducts research into the roles of various membrane proteins in the epithelial cells in the kidneys and intestines, and his research has contributed to our understanding of the biology of diseases such as hypertension, diabetes and osteoporosis. 

Read about Robert Fenton

Søren Fournais’ research focus is quantum mechanical models for nuclear and solid state physics, aiming specifically to understand magnetic effects. His research is potentially of major importance in the field of quantum chemistry.

Read about Søren Fournais

The Elite Research Prize includes a cash prize of DKK 1.2 million. DKK 200,000 is a personal award of merit, while DKK 1,000,000 is intended for research activities.

Elite Research Travel Grants for talented PhD students
Twenty Elite Research Travel Grants were also awarded to promising junior researchers at the conference. The Elite Research Travel Grant includes a cash prize of DKK 200,000, and is aimed at giving exceptionally talented PhD students an opportunity for extended periods of research abroad at the world’s top research programmes. Five of this year’s recipients are from Aarhus University:

Mark Simkin, Department of Computer Science

Mattias Skipper, School of Culture and Society – Philosophy

Ole Köhler-Forsberg, Department of Clinical Medicine – Psychosis Research Unit

Raune Frøkjær, School of Communication and Culture – Information Studies

Stine Andersen, Department of Clinical Medicine – Heart Disease

In addition to the minister for higher education and science, the conference was attended by personally invited award winners, researchers and representatives of the Danish research community.

Previous recipients of the Elite Research Prize at Aarhus University include Hanne Christine Bertram, professor at the Department of Food Science, Liv Hornekær, associate professor of Physics, and Rubina Raja, professor of archaeology.

Read more about EliteForsk



Research, All groups, External target group, Aarhus University, Grants and awards, Public/Media, All AU units