Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Master’s thesis competition about the Danish Realm – maybe your thesis could win!

Does your Master’s thesis focus on the Danish Realm? And would you like to win DKK 40,000 and have your thesis communicated to the general public? Then participate in the Ministry of Higher Education and Science’s Master’s thesis competition which is intended for students on all degree programmes.

2021.03.17 | Sinne B. Jakobsen

Photo: Colourbox


For the second year in a row, current or former students at Aarhus University can now compete against other students from Denmark, Greenland and the Faroe Islands in the competition for the best Master’s thesis that focuses on the Danish Realm.

Theses within all research areas are eligible for the competition, including social sciences, the humanities, technical sciences, natural sciences, agricultural and veterinary sciences and health sciences. A broad range of topics are acceptable; the submitted theses can address historical, cultural and political conditions, but also geology, tourism, art and much more.

To compete, your thesis must explore and analyse conditions, challenges or opportunities that relate to Greenland, the Faroe Islands or Denmark and are associated with the Danish Realm.

Your thesis must have received a grade of at least 10 and must have been assessed in the period from 14 August 2020 to 26 August 2021. It may be written in Danish or English.

The deadline for thesis submission: 26 August 2021.

Read more about how to participate in the competition (in Danish only).

About the Master’s thesis competition

The Master’s thesis competition is carried out by the Ministry of Higher Education and Science in close collaboration with the eight Danish universities and the universities on Greenland and the Faroe Islands. The competition will take place three times (first time in 2020), and it is one of several initiatives that focuses on strengthening young Danish, Faroese and Greenlandic people’s knowledge of the Danish Realm and each other.

The prize will be awarded every year by the Minister for Higher Education and Science at an award ceremony in November/December 2021.

Read more about the competition (in Danish only).

Read about last year’s winners (in Danish only).

Administrative, Administration (Academic), All groups, All AU units, Aarhus University