Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Two researchers from Health receive the Danish Cancer Society’s Junior Researcher Prize

Lasse Sommer Kristensen, associate professor at the Department of Biomedicine, and Anders Korshøj, clinical associate professor at the Department of Clinical Medicine, receive the Danish Cancer Society's Junior Researcher Prize 2021, the reason being that they have made a special contribution to Danish cancer research.

2021.09.07 | Lise Wendel Eriksen

The awards were presented by the Danish Cancer Society's chair Helen Bernt Andersen at the Danish Cancer Research Days conference in Odense on 27 August 2021. Photo: Danish Cancer Society


Lasse Sommer Kristensen, who is a molecular biologist and now heads his own research group at Biomedicine, is an expert in epigenetics. Among the areas he has examined is the question of how we can learn more about which special characteristics cancer cells have in each individual patient. This knowledge is vital in order to provide the best treatment for each individual patient.

Anders Rosendal Korshøj, who is a researcher at the Department of Clinical Medicine and a specialty registrar at the Department of Neurosurgery at Aarhus University Hospital, develops new technologies for the surgical treatment of brain cancer. His particular focus is patients with brain cancer of the type Glioblastoma, which is the most frequent type of brain tumour with around 300 cases annually in Denmark. This type of brain tumour grows aggressively and can be difficult to remove, as the surrounding and normally functioning brain tissue can be damaged during the operation.

The Junior Researcher Prizes are awarded annually by the Danish Cancer Society to talented junior researchers who have made a special contribution to Danish cancer research. The award comes with a prize of DKK 100,000.

This coverage is based on press material from the Danish Cancer Society.

Grants and awards, Health and disease, Public/Media, Health, Health, Technical / administrative staff, Department of Clinical Medicine, Academic staff, Department of Biomedicine